Some thoughts after 1 Month Blogging – An Award Rain, Thanks to Shimmeshine and Jim – And many Apologies in Advance

Hi guys,

How are you these days? I hope you had a wonderful week.

Well, I have disappeared for more than 2 weeks now. Some of you may wonder “What happened to Rose?” Well, if you did, I would like to thank you for your caring thoughts. I am very much alive and still cooking. 🙂 Here is showcase of some dishes I have been working on lately.

  • Wholewheat Pull-apart bread with a Secret Method to make it soft and fluffy for several days.

Wholewheat Pull-apart bread with a Secret Method

  • A collection of Ice cream flavors and recipes for summer.

Ice Cream Madness – For instance, Butter Pecan Ice Cream

  • Homemade Vietnamese Chewy Rice noodle served with Pork leg soup.

Homemade Chewy Rice Noodle with Pork leg Soup

  • Vietnamese Sweet and Sour Cabbage and Chicken Salad.

Vietnamese Cabbage and Chicken Salad

Stir fried Noodle with seafood, Rose’s style. 😉 Made this very morning.

Stir fry noodle with seafood

Don’t hate me please, :”> no show-off intended, just want to share the fact that I am not vanished through thin air. And you have my words that once I finished with the thesis project, there will be very detailed demonstration of all these dishes.

It has been almost 3 weeks no blogging. But the truth is that it feels much longer than it really was with all the thesis madness I am facing at the moment. For the past 3 weeks, I wrote about 30 pages of my bachelor thesis, mostly concerning the introduction and theoretical framework. I have not reached the main parts yet but still, everything is going fairly smooth. The thesis writing process has not been as painful as I expected so far. Well, except for the parts of staying up until 4 in the morning trying to find inspiration and calmness to squeeze words out of the brains, plus carrying about 20kg of books from school library to home, and the ultimate suffering of growing tummy fat and acne “earned” by hours sitting and starring at a computer; everything else is fine.

I must admit; I miss blogging.

But I could not shake out of my head the guilt of giving energy and effort writing a blog post while my thesis file is just a click away and I still have lots and lots to do about it. I am determined to graduate and move back to Vietnam at the end of this year October, and when the clock is ticking and I am fully aware of it, I could not risk the chance of falling into distractions, worse, a deadly attracting distraction like blogging. 🙂

One month of blogging has been great means for writing, sharing, and making new friends. I have learned so much since, a little of writing skill, a little of blog designing (or at the very least, blog theme choosing and widget arranging :”>), a little of food photography, a little of photo retouching, and a little of SEO as well. But the most of all, I finally had a starting kick to pursue my passion in cooking and baking while learning to have so much fun.

Also today, I would like to thank Jim and Shimmeshine for nominating my blog with not 1, not 2, but 3 awards. Wow, truly an award rain!

First is the One Lovely Blog award, nominated by both Jim and Shimmeshine!

One Lovely Blog Award (thanks to both Jim and Shimmeshine for nominating)

Second is the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, nominated by Shimmeshine.

Very Inspiring Blogger Award (Thanks to Shimmeshine)

And last but not least, is the Tell Me about Yourself Award, nominated also by Shimmeshine.

Tell Me about Yourself Award (Thanks again to Shimmeshine)

I do not have enough time to do as instructed to receive these awards, but I really want to thank them sincerely for these great honors. Again, many, many thanks to you guys, Jim and Shimmeshine! I really truly appreciated it, especially in a hard and stressful time at the moment.

Lastly, I want to apologize to you guys in advance. I will not be around here in the next 2 months. I make a pact with me and myself that we have to invest 100% of time, energy, effort, and writing-capable brain cells on my thesis in order to achieve the best grade. I have tried so hard these past 3 years for an excellent study record and this will be the final challenge for me. It will mean a lot to me if things turn out right this time.  So, blogging will have to wait for a while. I will come back, fortunately, in the middle of August when the thesis is finalized and approved by my supervisor and the presentation is well prepared. And await for a recipe storm when I am here again, so beware. Promise! 🙂

Here is little some thing for you, a touch of Finnish summer: Dandelions. 🙂 Some perceive them as weeds; I do too, from agriculture point of view.They grow and thrive everywhere in Finland during summer time.

Dandelions

But look at the cup half full, 🙂 Aren’t they pretty?

Dandelions

Happy summer! 🙂

Finally, a temporary goodbye to my blog and you guys; till we meet again, soon in August. And a good luck to myself!

Please, do miss me. 😉

In the mood for a little French today, Au-revoir!

Rose,

6 thoughts on “Some thoughts after 1 Month Blogging – An Award Rain, Thanks to Shimmeshine and Jim – And many Apologies in Advance

  1. I’ve been wondering where you went! Best of luck with your thesis writing and I look forward to hearing from you again in August when you are all done – all those dishes look mouth-watering. 🙂 (And congrats on the lovely awards, all three well-deserved!)

    Like

  2. Aww……was thinking of you this morning and figured out that you might be too busy with your thesis, hence the absence 🙂

    Would absolutely love those recipes from you when you come back, especially the pull apart bread and the yellow cake.

    All the best with your graduation and take care.

    PS. Me too on a 2 month vacation starting next month, see you in September then !!

    Like

  3. A lovely sweet post Rose thank you! You are most deserving of those awards and it’s nice to know you are well and working hard! You have got your priorities right I dare say. I wish you lots of energy and motivation to do all your hard work justice. All the best and look forward to reading your posts again after you have finished!
    Take care 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.